Dixie's Remember When

Looking Back: January 17, 1990

By Dixie Terry
In the January 17, 1990, edition of The Goreville Gazette, we read of the village board meeting on Jan. 2, called to order by Mayor J.W. Jenkins.  Trustees present were:  Mike Tripp, Rolla Jenkins, Omer Craig, Allen James, Herschel Craig and Fred Suits, along with treasurer, Roger Hume and clerk Darlene Roach. 

A three truck accident involved Brian E. Smith, Marion; Tom Haden, Goreville, driving a Goreville Concrete truck; and Robert E. Miller, Marion.  The accident happened at the intersection of Lake of Egypt Road and Route 37.  All three vehicles suffered major damage and the three drivers escaped with minor injuries.

Bob Webb was the “Mystery Photo” person, with Violet Stearns making the correct identification and going home with the prize, a certificate for a plate lunch from Eric’s Bar-B-Que in Goreville.  Also guessing were: Theresa Bryant, Barbara Soulsby, Dean Newton, Linda Stearns, Ramona Schaefer, Carla Newton, Diane Tippy, Sherry Durham, Cheryl Newton, Ken Tippy and Ray Almaroad.     

Ads seen from these former businesses included:  Bud Casper Insurance, Goreville Livestock Auction, Whitnel Funeral Home, Johnson Siding and Replacement Windows, Meredith Funeral Home, Dad’s Pizza, Goreville Super-K, Country Cafe and Eric’s Bar-B-Que.     

State Representative David Phelps stated:  “I was sad to learn that Everett Boner had been struck and killed by a train at the railroad crossing near his home, in Goreville, on Dec. 29, 1989.  A current study showing a high percentage of car-train fatalities in Southern Illinois makes me more anxious to help Goreville improve the railroad crossing safety at the railroad approaches.”     

Top students of Shawnee Community College included these from Goreville:  Shirley Hancock, Barbara Brock and Bishop Montgomery of Tunnel Hill.     

The Eagle Point Bay Ladies Group sponsored a basket weaving class, with John and Betty Stegle as instructors, for two days, at the EPB Association Building.     

The Lake of Egypt Association of Property Owners (LEAPO) held their first meeting of the new year, with their new president, Bob Rankin, in charge. New committee chairs include:  Ann Crain, Ray Mifflin, Loretta Avery, Mary K. Butz, June Oehler. Lakewide security will be discussed at the March 13 meeting. 

And so it was, on January 17, 1990.

Related Articles

Back to top button